Evaluation Question One

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 12.54.03.png

https://prezi.com/36glmq2ftwlb/edit/#0_13696309

EVALUATION QUESTION ONE

FORMS AND CONVENTIONS
I believe that my media product uses and develops the forms and conventions of a psychological thriller, through research of current films I discovered these conventions and have used them throughout my film opening through the use of location, props, sound, font, camera, editing and overall theme.

LOCATION
In my film opening i have used the location of a wood, i believe that this adheres to the conventions of a psychological thriller as shown in my research of other films such as Donnie Darko. Here is a side by side of a scene from Donnie Darko and my film opening, both using the location of a wood.

PROPS
In my film opening i have used props such as a gun and a baseball bat, i think that these specifically comply with the thriller aspect of my film, these props are used by the antagonist characters to represent a sense of violence common in thriller films.
Image by goodtextures: http://fav.me/d2he3r8

FONTS
In my film opening i have used simplistic fonts for my credits and film title, this is a common feature of a psychological feature as seen in the psychological thriller film X Machina

SOUND
In my film opening i have used tense and dramatic music atypical of a psychological thriller to create tension for the audience, the tense music appears in my film opening when the audience are first introduced to the antagonists conveying a sense of danger.

CAMERA and EDITING
Additionally i used quick camera movements and sequences in my opening which is also a feature of a psychological thriller to again create tension for the audience. I also frequently cut to black screens in my opening to add a sense of mystery. Furthermore I have also used the concept of flash forwards which are also commonly used in psychological thrillers.

OVERALL THEME
Psychological thrillers usually deal with themes such a perception: a persons interpretation of the world around them, and i believe that my film opening deals with this themes as we see the main character trying to interpret her surroundings.

Leave a comment